The Dirt Cure

The Dirt Cure

Author: Maya Shetreat-Klein

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781476796987

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 384

View: 205

Get eBOOK →
"In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Mark Hyman, and Andrew Weil, pioneering integrative pediatric neurologist Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD, reveals the shocking contents of children's food, how it's seriously harming their bodies and brains, and what we can do about it. And she presents the first nutritional plan for getting and keeping children healthy - a plan that any family can follow. Maya Shetreat-Klein is an integrative pediatric neurologist with a medical degree from Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Board certified in adult and child neurology as well as pediatrics"--

Healthy Food, Healthy Gut, Happy Child

Healthy Food, Healthy Gut, Happy Child

Author: Maya Shetreat-Klein

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 9781509816118

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 320

View: 441

Get eBOOK →
From allergies and ADHD to mental illnesses and obesity, new studies show the alarming rise of chronic diseases in children. A traditionally trained paediatric neurologist and a parent herself, Dr Maya Shetreat-Klein encountered the limits of conventional medicine when her son suffered a severe episode of asthma on his first birthday and began a backward slide in his development. Treatments failed to reverse his condition, so Dr Shetreat-Klein embarked on a scientific investigation, discovering that food was at the root of her son's illness, affecting his digestive system, immune system and brain. The solution was shockingly simple: heal the food, heal the gut, heal the brain . . . and heal the child. Dr Shetreat-Klein shifted the focus of her practice and has since successfully helped chronically ill patients from around the world. Revealing the profound connections between food, nature and children's health, the book explains how food is constantly changing kids' bodies, brains and even genes - for better or for worse. She also shares success stories from her practice and tips as a working mother of three on stocking healing foods (from veggies to chocolate!), reading labels and getting even picky eaters into the new menu.

How to get your child to eat healthy food

How to get your child to eat healthy food

Author: Debmita Dutta

Publisher: Debmita Dutta

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page:

View: 891

Get eBOOK →
Are you struggling to get your child to healthy food? Then this is the book you need to pick up ! Find out where you are going wrong and discover how to set things right in your child's diet Be the Happy Parent of a Healthy child

Happy Food for Life

Happy Food for Life

Author: Henrik Ennart

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781472974730

Category: Cooking

Page: 256

View: 339

Get eBOOK →
Discover how eating well affects mental and physical health: vegan, veggie or carnivore, this book is for you! Based on ground-breaking new research, Happy Food For Life extends the conversation around gut health and its effect on our mental and physical health, ensuring every reader is equipped to make the best choices for our all-round health – and the planet too. From mindful eating to how to get children to eat (almost) anything, and with an in-depth look at the increasingly popular Nordic diet, this book is packed full of simple, healthy recipes and great everyday advice. The quick, mouth-watering and wholesome recipes include: creamy salsify tagliatelle with mushrooms roast chicken soup with crudites buckwheat risotto with fennel and pea sprout salad whole roast sweet potato with mint, coriander, chilli and cashew nuts blood orange and Brussels sprout salad whole grilled sea bass with green vegetables... ... and many more helping you put the science into practice!

Don't Feed The Sugar Monster

Don't Feed The Sugar Monster

Author: Roxanne Edrington

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 1096854953

Category:

Page: 36

View: 453

Get eBOOK →
Did you know that keeping the gut healthy is very important in raising a healthy child? This book is for every parent or caretaker who wants to raise happy and healthy children. Research has shown that the gut microbiome is linked to every system in the body. It affects the body throughout life by controlling the digestion of food, immune system, central nervous system and other bodily processes. If the gut microbiome is altered, sickness is inevitable! Each child is only as healthy as their gut microbiota! Through the experience of raising my children and seeing children in my practice, I learned early on that these bacteria that live in our gut can have profound effects on a child's life! My goal is to educated children, parents and caretakers that food is not only eaten by us ... but by the bacteria that lives in us. If we make the right choices, our children can live a life of health and vitality.

The Smart Baby Cookbook

The Smart Baby Cookbook

Author: Lauren Cheney

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 9781760633905

Category: Cooking

Page: 176

View: 377

Get eBOOK →
A blueprint for your child's nutrition and brain health Doctor-approved and parent-tested, the Smart Baby Cookbook helps you give your young one a head-start for a healthy life, beginning with the best first foods, through to finger foods and family meals. Including: The science behind 'SMART' foods and their effects on immunity and brain function Meal planners organised by baby's age and stages of development, plus advice for starting solids Easy-to-make family favourite recipes designed for maximum nutrition Budget-friendly recipes with minimal prep and no separate cooking required When chef Lauren Cheney's baby was born with a rare immunity disorder, she threw herself into researching the best foods that could help him thrive. Drawing on advice from child health experts, she developed recipes for nutrient-packed everyday meals. Now with this empowering guide, her advice and recipes are available for families everywhere, helping to nourish the bodies and brains of the little ones we love.

Baby Nosh

Baby Nosh

Author: Jennifer Browne

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781680991321

Category: Cooking

Page: 272

View: 239

Get eBOOK →
Caring for a baby or small child with food sensitivities is never fun—especially if you have no idea what the culprit is. Meet Jennifer and Tanya: two modern mamas with a combined seven children and twenty-five years’ worth of experience in navigating the problem of what to feed a baby with an uncooperative digestive tract. Written in frank, humorous language displaying a boisterous passion for real food, this book schools readers on what some common food offenders are, why food sensitivities are more prevalent now than in the past, secrets to assembling the perfect pantry, and how to cook one meal that will nourish anyone from six months to sixty years with simple, wholesome ingredients. Here are fifty plant-based, gluten-free, easily digestible recipes that are not only nutritious, delicious, and kind to your little one’s gut, but are also appropriate for the entire family. There are even a handful of natural food remedies for teething pain, fevers, cold and flu, and more. From yam medallions to strawberry-chia spread, carrot-ginger swirl pancakes to chamomile teething treats, Baby Nosh will simplify mealtimes and help your baby or toddler thrive! Skyhorse Publishing, along with our Good Books and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of cookbooks, including books on juicing, grilling, baking, frying, home brewing and winemaking, slow cookers, and cast iron cooking. We’ve been successful with books on gluten-free cooking, vegetarian and vegan cooking, paleo, raw foods, and more. Our list includes French cooking, Swedish cooking, Austrian and German cooking, Cajun cooking, as well as books on jerky, canning and preserving, peanut butter, meatballs, oil and vinegar, bone broth, and more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Vegetarian Comfort Foods

Vegetarian Comfort Foods

Author: Jennifer Browne

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781632207470

Category: Cooking

Page: 218

View: 345

Get eBOOK →
The Happy Healthy Gut Guide to Delicious Plant-Based CookingMore than seventy-five recipes to nourish your body and soulFood is the mind and body’s single-most important form of nourishment. Our bodies’ capacity for growth and repair directly correlates to the fuel we put into it, and food is that fuel. By eating mindfully, we can not only steer the course of our health to reach its peak, but enjoy the ride along the way.After a decade-long struggle with IBS, Jennifer Brown discovered that the path to health is no further than the walk to the refrigerator. Vegetarian Comfort Foods couples the healing power of whole, plant-based, mindfully-chosen food with creative recipes to please our palates and diminish our ailments. Starting with the necessary kitchen tools, pantry prerequisites, and cleansing instructions, the foundation is set for more than seventy-five recipes, such as:Berry-Rhubarb SmoothieBanana Walnut PancakesRoasted Squash with Apple and EggplantWarm Steamed Green SaladTangy Lentil SaladThai Red CurrySweet & Sour Tofu Stir-FryPink Salt BrowniesChocolate Chia PuddingAnd many more!Skyhorse Publishing, along with our Good Books and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of cookbooks, including books on juicing, grilling, baking, frying, home brewing and winemaking, slow cookers, and cast iron cooking. We’ve been successful with books on gluten-free cooking, vegetarian and vegan cooking, paleo, raw foods, and more. Our list includes French cooking, Swedish cooking, Austrian and German cooking, Cajun cooking, as well as books on jerky, canning and preserving, peanut butter, meatballs, oil and vinegar, bone broth, and more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Low Tox Life Food

Low Tox Life Food

Author: Alexx Stuart

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 9781761062940

Category: Cooking

Page: 304

View: 748

Get eBOOK →
What are the best foods to put in your shopping basket for your health and for the planet? Is it necessary to cut out meat, almonds and go organic? Who can afford it anyway? Bestselling author of Low Tox Life and 'ultimate gentle activist' Alexx Stuart clears a path through the rules so stridently laid down by proponents of particular diets. She turns the tables on a supermarket system that is geared strongly against our health and the environment, and points to the how rather than the what. Because questioning how your food is grown is the key to unlocking dependence on a broken food system and to finding easy and delicious answers to that daily conundrum: what's for dinner? Low Tox Life Food is packed with inspiration and stories from regenerative farmers, checklists for what to ask about the produce you buy, ways to afford better choices, as well as 80 of Alexx's most requested recipes for budget-friendly, easily adaptable meals without waste. If you want to feel more certain and more hopeful about the future of food and our planet, this book is for you.