The Hidden Girl and Other Stories

The Hidden Girl and Other Stories

Author: Ken Liu

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781982134051

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 417

Get eBOOK →
Includes stories featured in Pantheon—now an animated series on AMC+ “I know this is going to sound hyperbolic, but when I’m reading Ken Liu’s stories, I feel like I’m reading a once-in-a-generation talent. I’m in awe.” —Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author “Captivating.” —BuzzFeed “Extraordinary.” —The Washington Post “Brilliant.” —The Chicago Tribune With the release of The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, Ken Liu’s short fiction has resonated with a generation of readers. From stories about time-traveling assassins, to Black Mirror-esque tales of cryptocurrency and internet trolling, to heartbreaking narratives of parent-child relationships, The Hidden Girl and Other Stories is a far-reaching work that explores topical themes from the present and a visionary look at humanity’s future. This collection includes a selection of Liu’s speculative fiction stories over the past five years—seventeen of his best—plus a new novelette. In addition, it also features an excerpt from The Veiled Throne, the third book in Liu’s epic fantasy series The Dandelion Dynasty. Stories include: Ghost Days; Maxwell's Demon; The Reborn; Thoughts and Prayers; Byzantine Empathy; The Gods Will Not Be Chained; Staying Behind; Real Artists; The Gods Will Not Be Slain; Altogether Elsewhere, Vast Herds of Reindeer; The Gods Have Not Died in Vain; Memories of My Mother; Dispatches from the Cradle: The Hermit—Forty-Eight Hours in the Sea of Massachusetts; Grey Rabbit, Crimson Mare, Coal Leopard; A Chase Beyond the Storms (an excerpt from The Veiled Throne, Book 3 of the Dandelion Dynasty); The Hidden Girl; Seven Birthdays; The Message; Cutting

The Ant King and Other Stories

The Ant King and Other Stories

Author: Benjamin Rosenbaum

Publisher: Small Beer Press

ISBN: 9781931520539

Category: Fiction

Page: 486

View: 350

Get eBOOK →
A collection of short stories that merges fantasy and science fiction, including "Orphans," where an emancipated group of children go house shopping.

The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories

The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories

Author: Penny Edwards

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 9781785891397

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 881

Get eBOOK →
Peter Bayer was seventy-three. He’d taught at the school just up the road for most of his life and, when the wall came down, saw no reason to move. Nobody could say life had been easy, and when it was built, he’d lost contact with many friends, but he’d learnt to enjoy life as best he could and had had the good fortune of a happy marriage to Elsa. It’s 2006. Peter Bayer and his wife, Elsa, live on the East side of Berlin, as they’ve always done, even when that wasn’t an attractive proposition. What limits Peter’s freedom nowadays isn’t a concrete wall but often feels like one. Elsa has dementia and barely recognises him, so his life is not only hard work, but it’s lonely. What makes it lonelier is that his wife’s illness has given her a distorted view of the past and one that would horrify the woman he married. When Helen, a recently widowed English woman, rents the flat Peter owns nearby, he experiences the kinds of conversations that used to be normal for him, which makes his current reality all the more painful. Helen’s come to Berlin to find out more about her husband’s past in the city and learns things from their German friends that she was unaware of when he was alive. During her struggle to come to terms with her present life, Helen sees that the terrible demands on Peter’s life are almost impossible to endure. Other stories in the book show the toll of war, as fear is passed from one generation to another and we see how the power of secrecy never disappears. They also reveal how gratitude can take various forms and how intergenerational friendships really are all they’re cracked up to be. The Writing on the Wall and Other Stories is a collection of tales, spanning the 1980s to the present day, that will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler, Alan Bennett and Alice Munro, whom Penny Edwards takes inspiration from.

The Cook's Wedding and Other Stories

The Cook's Wedding and Other Stories

Author: Anton Pavlovich Chekhov

Publisher: 1st World Publishing

ISBN: 9781421821689

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 270

View: 826

Get eBOOK →
GRISHA, a fat, solemn little person of seven, was standing by the kitchen door listening and peeping through the keyhole. In the kitchen something extraordinary, and in his opinion never seen before, was taking place. A big, thick-set, red-haired peasant, with a beard, and a drop of perspiration on his nose, wearing a cabman's full coat, was sitting at the kitchen table on which they chopped the meat and sliced the onions. He was balancing a saucer on the five fingers of his right hand and drinking tea out of it, and crunching sugar so loudly that it sent a shiver down Grisha's back. Aksinya Stepanovna, the old nurse, was sitting on the dirty stool facing him, and she, too, was drinking tea. Her face was grave, though at the same time it beamed with a kind of triumph. Pelageya, the cook, was busy at the stove, and was apparently trying to hide her face.

Nightfall and Other Stories

Nightfall and Other Stories

Author: Isaac Asimov

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 9780593357958

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 406

Get eBOOK →
A collection of twenty classic short stories by Isaac Asimov, author of the Foundation series, featuring the definitive version of “Nightfall” From one of history’s most influential writers of science fiction comes this collection of twenty short works of fiction, arranged in order of publication from 1941 to 1967. Compiled by Asimov himself, who prefaced each story with an introduction, it begins with “Nightfall,” the tale of a world with eternal sun that is suddenly plunged into total darkness and utter madness. “Nightfall,” published when the author was only twenty-one, was arguably his breakout work, making such an impression that, almost thirty years later, the Science Fiction Writers of America voted it the best science-fiction short story ever written The other stories in the collection span far and wide: A dedicated scientist who whips up his own love potion. Machines that learn to think for themselves—and direct their thoughts to overturning the establishment. The discovery that Earthlings are being destroyed by a mysterious kind of psychological virus. A day when walking outdoors becomes a sign of psychosis. And many more.

Summer Promise And Other Stories

Summer Promise And Other Stories

Author: Elvi Rhodes

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781446487464

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 952

Get eBOOK →
Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Erica James will love this collection of stories to suit the reader's every mood - tender, funny, romantic, ironic, bitter-sweet, nostalgic - multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes has captured them all. Perfect to settle down with... READERS ARE LOVING SUMMER PROMISE AND OTHER STORIES! 'A very easy and enjoyable read' -- ***** Reader review 'Excellent' -- ***** Reader review 'Wonderful' -- ***** Reader review ************************************************************** These enchanting stories are guaranteed by turn to entertain, soothe, intrigue and touch you... The couple in Summer Promise are, at first glance, placed in an appalling situation, but nevertheless in the warmth of southern France, their relationship develops in an unexpected way. Be Your Age, Dear is a delightful tale of a generation gap which, in one family, seems non-existent - or has it gone into reverse? The Meeting describes the ten-yearly reunion of a group of friends which, for obvious reasons, dwindles each time. The two members most closely involved come to a decision that was, perhaps, inevitable. Model of Beauty is set in a painting class, where the temporary illness of the generously endowed model brings about surprising consequences. Summer Promise and Other Stories is a wonderful collection - the perfect dose of escapism and tonic to settle down with...

By Rock and Pool on an Austral Shore, and Other Stories

By Rock and Pool on an Austral Shore, and Other Stories

Author: Louis Becke

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547214823

Category: Fiction

Page: 168

View: 572

Get eBOOK →
DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "By Rock and Pool on an Austral Shore, and Other Stories" by Louis Becke. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.

A Loose End and Other Stories

A Loose End and Other Stories

Author: S. Elizabeth Hall

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547125174

Category: Fiction

Page: 83

View: 712

Get eBOOK →
DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "A Loose End and Other Stories" by S. Elizabeth Hall. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.